Bay View Hotel 1855 – 1928

228 St Kilda Road, corner Argyle Street, St Kilda
MEL: 58 C9

In its heyday, the Bay View, opened by Thomas Glasgow in 1855, was very popular amongst travellers along Brighton Road, including gardeners from the Brighton district. Reminiscent of an English guesthouse, it was named for the picturesque seascape, which could be enjoyed from its position, but the inevitable progressive settlement of the area, with the construction of houses and shops, ultimately decimated that observation point.

Sports were held on the vacant green opposite during holidays, where the licensee erected a greasy pole, offering a pig as a prize for the man who succeeded in climbing it.  Licensees included Joseph Attridge and Patrick ‘Paddy’ Guaran, treasurer of the St Kilda Coursing Club.

In April 1917, an application was made for a rent reduction, due to fewer patrons because of an earlier (6pm) closing time during the First World War.

An 1856-57 map of St Kilda in the Victorian History magazine (June 1916) shows the Bay View on the corner of Argyle Street and Alma Road.  The Bay View Hotel closed in 1928, and, in 2003, is the site of Lesley Haylock Design Evening Wear at ground level, and Help Computer Consultants on the first floor.








PDF Version